Home » India Visa for Australian Passport Holders

India Visa for Australian Passport Holders

by Nathan Zachary
men wearing original b3 bomber jacket

India offers electronic visas to citizens of over 150 countries including citizens of Australia. Find out more about the India tourist visa and how it will affect Australian citizens.

Yearning to see the wonders of Jaipur and Agra while indulging in the best street food India has to offer but dreading INDIAN VISA FOR AUSTRALIAN CITIZENS at an Indian embassy or consulate? Well, you’re in luck. Gone are the days of long queues and tedious paperwork. All you need is an internet connection and a few minutes.

Here’s everything you need to know about obtaining an India visa online as an Australian citizen and where it can be used.

Fill me in

Do Australian Passport Holders Require a Visa to Visit India?

Australian citizens require a visa to enter India. Luckily, Australians qualify for INDIAN VISA PORTS OF EXIT.

Online Indian Visa Options

There are three types of visas available for Australian passport holders to obtain online. Depending on your reason for visiting India, you will need one of these:

  • Tourist visa.
  • Business visa.
  • Medical visa.

This post will focus on the e-tourist visa. You can read our guide to the India business visa or India medical visa for more information if you need those visas.

Applying for an Indian Tourist Visa as an Australian

The Indian Tourist eVisa is issued electronically by the Indian Ministry of Foreign Affairs to those who qualify. For Australian passport holders, there are three different tourist visa options:

  • 30-day, double-entry e-tourist visa.
  • 1-year, multiple-entry e-tourist visa.
  • 5-year, multiple-entry e-tourist visa.


Only those with valid travel documents (a valid passport) can apply online for the Indian e-visa. Those who have refugee travel documents, among others, will need to contact the nearest Indian embassy or consulate.

Please note that the e-visa is also not available to Diplomatic or Official passport holders or Laissez-passer travel document holders. Applicants holding emergency or limited passports will also need to contact an embassy.


If you qualify for the e-visa, then you can apply online. We understand how stressful the application process can be and have therefore simplified it into just three steps:

  • 1. Fill out your general information and double-check that all the information is correct.
  • 2. Choose the preferred processing time and pay the processing fee.
  • 3. Upload supporting documents and a photo then submit the application.

Our team will take it from there and process the application for you. We will email your visa to you once it is approved.


In order to submit your application, you will need to provide the following supporting documents:

  • Passport: Scan of the last page of your passport (if requested).
  • Recent passport photo (you can use the iVisa passport photo service to obtain one).
  • Credit or debit card to make the payment.
  • You may be asked to provide details about your stay, including accommodation information.


We know the application process might be tedious, so we’ve simplified said application and offer three processing options depending on how quickly you need your visa. The cost will depend on the processing time and the type of visa you plan to apply for.

Here is a breakdown of the different prices:

The 30-day Double entry e-tourist visa

  • Standard processing takes 5 days and costs USD $73.49.
  • Rush processing takes 5 days and costs USD $73.49.
  • Super Rush processing takes 5 days and costs USD $73.49.

The 1-year e-tourist visa

  • Standard processing takes 5 days and costs USD $88.99.
  • Rush processing takes 3 days and costs USD $134.99.
  • Super Rush processing takes 36 hours and costs USD $193.99.

The 5-year e-tourist visa

  • Standard processing takes 5 days and costs USD $143.04.
  • Rush processing takes 3 days and costs USD $179.04.
  • Super Rush processing takes 36 hours and costs USD $234.04.

Note: All of the above prices include a government fee of USD 27.50 and the iVisa processing fee.

Which Points of Entry Accept the eVisa?

According to Indian government officials, the e-Visa will only be accepted at:

  • 28 airports, which are: Ahmedabad, Amritsar, Bagdogra, Bengaluru, Bhubaneshwar, Calicut, Chennai, Chandigarh, Cochin, Coimbatore, Delhi, Gaya, Goa, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Kolkata, Lucknow, Madurai, Mangalore, Mumbai, Nagpur, Port Blair, Pune, Tiruchirappalli, Trivandrum, Varanasi, and Visakhapatnam.
  • 5 seaports, namely Cochin, Goa, Mangalore, Mumbai, and Chennai.

Note: You may not use an e-visa at any Indian land border. However, you may leave India from any of the authorized Immigration Check Posts (ICPs) in India.

Related Posts

Techcrams logo file

TechCrams is an online webpage that provides business news, tech, telecom, digital marketing, auto news, and website reviews around World.

Contact us: info@techcrams.com

@2022 – TechCrams. All Right Reserved. Designed by Techager Team